Pineapple Salsa

I had tried some store-bought pineapple salsa and really enjoyed it so I thought I would try to make my own. Mine didn’t turn out anything like what I had before, but it was really yummy! I got this recipe from another site online, though I made a few alterations because that’s what I do. My husband swears I’ve never made a dish exactly by recipe, I always change something.

Ok, so I’m going to post the original recipe with my alterations in parenthesis. I think this salsa is great, though my husband wasn’t too thrilled because it was a bit sweet ( he doesn’t think salsa should be sweet lol). So here goes:

Pineapple Salsa

Ingredients:

2 cups diced fresh pineapple (I used one average sized fresh pineapple, diced)

1 cup diced red pepper (I wasnt sure what type of red pepper it was talking about so I used one red bell pepper, diced)

1/2 cup chopped cilantro (I only used 1/4 cup cilantro)

1/4 cup finely chopped red onion (I used onion powder to taste because my husband and I don’t like the texture of onions)

3 tablespoons finely chopped jalapeño pepper, stemmed and seeded (I used one Fresno pepper from our garden, finely chopped, stemmed, the seeds make it spicier so adding them is optional)

1 clove garlic, minced (I used garlic powder to taste)

Juice of 1 large lime (or about 1-2 tbsp of lime juice)

(I also added 1-2 diced Roma tomatoes because I felt it needed some being its salsa and all lol)

Salt, to taste

Directions:

In a medium bowl, combine all ingredients and mix well. Serve at room temperature or chilled. Enjoy!

Note: This salsa is great with the hint of lime tortilla chips!

You can find the original recipe here: http://www.twopeasandtheirpod.com/pineapple-salsa/

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Pineapple Salsa

  1. That sounds really good!

Leave some yumminess :)

